Buying guide

The Best Online Community Platforms in 2026, Compared From Their Own Pricing Pages

By , Founder and CEO, VonzaLast reviewed Vendor pages read on and

The best online community platform depends on what your community is for. Circle and Mighty Networks suit creators who want a dedicated community with member apps on iOS and Android. Skool suits a simple paid group with courses and a leaderboard from $9 a month, if the 10% Hobby fee is acceptable, and Heartbeat starts a paid community at $49 a month. Bettermode suits a company’s customer community. Kajabi, Podia and Thinkific add a community to a course business, and Discord and Facebook Groups cost nothing if you do not need to sell access from your own site. Vonza suits creators who want the community, courses, events, live streams and email in one plan, paid through Stripe or Paystack and used in the browser rather than an app.

An online community platform gives a group with a shared interest a home of its own on the internet: a feed for posts, spaces for topics, member profiles, chat and events and, for a business, a way to charge for access. Online community software runs from free social tools, where the group lives on someone else’s platform, to community builders you brand and sell under your own name.

Eleven are compared here: ten competitors and Vonza, which publishes this guide. The table lists each platform’s lowest monthly price, its transaction fee, its free plan or trial and whether it has a native mobile app, exactly as its own pages stated them on the date shown, so you can check every number.

Prices change often. Each competitor’s card links to the page it was read from, and the Vonza comparison page for each vendor goes deeper on features and free migration.

At a glance

Each competitor row is what its own pricing page stated on 21 October 2026 or 2 November 2026. “Not stated” means the page did not mention it.

11 platforms compared on who they suit, lowest price, fee, trial and native mobile app, as read on 2026-10-21 and 2026-11-02
PlatformBest forLowest priceFeeFree plan or trialNative mobile app
VonzaCreators, coaches and schools who want a paid community with courses, events, live streams and email in one plan$99/moIn addition to Stripe's standard 2.9% + $0.30 payment processing fee, Vonza charges an additional platform fee per transaction — 20% during your free trial, 1% on any paid plan.14-day free trial on every planNo native app; works on any phone, in the browser
CircleCreators and brands who want a dedicated community with group chat, live rooms and member apps$89 a month (Professional), billed annually; monthly-billing prices are not shown2% on Professional; 1% on Business ($199) and Scale; 0.5% on Circle Plus14-day free trial, no card; no free planYes: iOS and Android app on every plan; custom branded apps on Circle Plus
Mighty NetworksCommunities that combine courses, events and paid memberships, with a branded app on Mighty Pro$79 per month (Launch Plan); $950 a year on annual billing2% on Launch; 1% on Scale ($179); 0.5% on Growth ($354)14-day free trial, no credit card, run on the Growth Plan; no free planYes: “Available on iOS, Android & the Web”; your own branded apps on Mighty Pro
SkoolA simple paid group with courses, a calendar and a leaderboard in one place$9 a month (Hobby); Pro $99 a month10% + 30¢ per transaction on Hobby; 2.9% + 30¢ on Pro14-day free trial; no free planYes: the official Skool app on iOS and Android, with push notifications
HeartbeatPaid communities that want chat channels, group messages, courses and automations from a low entry price$49 a month (Build), billed monthly; $40 a month billed annually ($490 a year)5% on Build, 2.5% on Grow, 1.25% on Scale, on top of Stripe’s processing fee14-day free trial, no credit card; no free plan on the pageYes: iOS and Android app in the plan comparison; a white-label branded app on Scale
BettermodeCompanies running a branded customer or product community with Q&A, single sign-on and integrations$149 a month (Starter) billed yearly ($1,788 a year); $199 a month billed monthlyNot stated; the pricing page lists no payment features14-day free trial, no credit card; no free plan on the pageNot stated on the pricing page
KajabiEstablished creators who sell courses and coaching first and want a community beside them$179 a month (Basic); $143 on annual billingNo platform fee; Kajabi Payments 2.9% + $0.30, or 2% with a third-party processor on BasicFree trial, length not stated; 30-day money-back guaranteeYes: the pricing page lists the Kajabi Customer App; your own app in the App Store on Pro
PodiaCreators who sell downloads, courses and coaching and want a community in the same store$49 a month (Mover); $42 on annual billing5% on Mover; no Podia fees on Shaker and Earthquaker14-day free trial, no card; no free planNot stated on the pricing page
ThinkificCourse businesses that want a community attached to their courses$109 a month (Start); $82 on annual billingNot stated on Thinkific’s pricing page30-day free trial; no free planBranded iOS and Android app as a $199 a month add-on
DiscordFree, chat-first communities that meet in real-time text and voice channelsFree: Discord won’t charge a fee for the basic functionality; Nitro is an optional paid membershipServer Subscriptions: owners keep 90% after applicable deductionsFree to useYes: Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS, Android and consoles
Facebook GroupsFree groups that grow from people who are already on FacebookFree: “We do not charge you to use Facebook”None stated; Facebook earns from advertisersFree to useYes: Facebook’s iPhone, iPad and Android apps

Vonza publishes this guide and sells one of the platforms in it. Every competitor figure is quoted from that vendor’s own page, read on the date shown and saved so it can be checked, and Vonza’s own price is its live price from the pricing page. There are no affiliate links.

The eleven platforms, one by one

  1. 1. Vonza

    Publisher

    Best for: Creators, coaches and schools who want a paid community with courses, events, live streams and email in one plan

    Vonza AI drafts a community’s spaces, welcome posts and images from a short description, or you start from one of six templates or a blank space. Members join from a sales page on your own site and pay through Stripe or Paystack on free, one-time, subscription, installment or pay-what-you-want plans. Inside, the community carries linked courses, events in formats such as Q&A, workshop, webinar and office hours, live streams hosted in Vonza, points, levels and a leaderboard, a moderation queue and payment analytics.

    Vonza is the publisher of this guide. It has no native mobile app and no push notifications: members use the community in a phone or desktop browser, with email and in-app notifications. Chat is one-to-one direct messages, without group chats. Community counts follow the plan: Starter includes 2 communities, Growth 5 and Business 1,000.

    Price
    $99/mo on the lowest plan, live from the pricing page
    Fee
    In addition to Stripe's standard 2.9% + $0.30 payment processing fee, Vonza charges an additional platform fee per transaction — 20% during your free trial, 1% on any paid plan.
    Free plan or trial
    14-day free trial on every plan
    Native mobile app
    No native app; works on any phone, in the browser

    Source:vonza.com/pricinglive price; feature facts from the Vonza product pages.

    Start 14 Day Free Trial
  2. 2. Circle

    Best for: Creators and brands who want a dedicated community with group chat, live rooms and member apps

    Circle’s pricing page lists unlimited members, direct messaging, group chat, events, live streams and live rooms, courses, gamification and an iOS and Android app on every plan, with Circle AI credits included.

    Professional allows 20 spaces and live streams for up to 100 attendees and takes 2% of sales. The displayed prices assume annual billing, Scale ($419) is annual only, and email marketing is a paid add-on (Email Hub, +$99 a month).

    Price
    $89 a month (Professional), billed annually; monthly-billing prices are not shown
    Fee
    2% on Professional; 1% on Business ($199) and Scale; 0.5% on Circle Plus
    Free plan or trial
    14-day free trial, no card; no free plan
    Native mobile app
    Yes: iOS and Android app on every plan; custom branded apps on Circle Plus

    Source:circle.soread on 21 October 2026.Vonza vs Circle

  3. 3. Mighty Networks

    Best for: Communities that combine courses, events and paid memberships, with a branded app on Mighty Pro

    Mighty Networks’ page lists chat spaces with threads, online and in-person events, simultaneous livestreaming events, on-demand and cohort-based courses and paid memberships, and lets you charge for one-time events.

    Every plan takes a share of sales, and Launch allows 3 hosts and 10 moderators. Email marketing, scheduling, invoicing and a store are not on the pricing page.

    Price
    $79 per month (Launch Plan); $950 a year on annual billing
    Fee
    2% on Launch; 1% on Scale ($179); 0.5% on Growth ($354)
    Free plan or trial
    14-day free trial, no credit card, run on the Growth Plan; no free plan
    Native mobile app
    Yes: “Available on iOS, Android & the Web”; your own branded apps on Mighty Pro

    Source:mightynetworks.comread on 21 October 2026.Vonza vs Mighty Networks

  4. 4. Skool

    Best for: A simple paid group with courses, a calendar and a leaderboard in one place

    Skool’s pricing page lists unlimited members, courses, videos and live calls on both plans, with a custom URL and affiliates. Its help center describes points from likes, levels, a leaderboard and live calls hosted on Skool.

    Hobby takes 10% of every sale, and members pay in US dollars. Email marketing, a website builder, scheduling and invoicing are not on the pricing page.

    Price
    $9 a month (Hobby); Pro $99 a month
    Fee
    10% + 30¢ per transaction on Hobby; 2.9% + 30¢ on Pro
    Free plan or trial
    14-day free trial; no free plan
    Native mobile app
    Yes: the official Skool app on iOS and Android, with push notifications

    Source:skool.comread on 2 November 2026.Vonza vs Skool

  5. 5. Heartbeat

    Best for: Paid communities that want chat channels, group messages, courses and automations from a low entry price

    Heartbeat’s Build plan lists unlimited channels, courses, events, documents and landing pages, member badges and gamification, a member directory, 5 automation workflows and member data migration. Its plan comparison lists chat channels, one-to-one and group messages, and voice and video rooms for up to 256 people.

    Build caps the community at 350 members, counting admins and moderators, and takes 5% on top of Stripe’s fee; Grow ($149) allows 5,000 members at 2.5%. Native video hosting is a $19 a month add-on on Build.

    Price
    $49 a month (Build), billed monthly; $40 a month billed annually ($490 a year)
    Fee
    5% on Build, 2.5% on Grow, 1.25% on Scale, on top of Stripe’s processing fee
    Free plan or trial
    14-day free trial, no credit card; no free plan on the page
    Native mobile app
    Yes: iOS and Android app in the plan comparison; a white-label branded app on Scale

    Source:heartbeat.chatread on 2 November 2026.

  6. 6. Bettermode

    Best for: Companies running a branded customer or product community with Q&A, single sign-on and integrations

    Bettermode’s Starter plan lists Q&A, discussion, events and polls, a custom domain, private messaging and chat, social login and up to 10,000 members; Growth adds AI search, webhooks and OAuth2 and JWT login.

    Growth is $1,500 a month billed yearly. Paid memberships, courses and live streaming are not on the pricing page, so it fits a support or product community more than a paid creator community.

    Price
    $149 a month (Starter) billed yearly ($1,788 a year); $199 a month billed monthly
    Fee
    Not stated; the pricing page lists no payment features
    Free plan or trial
    14-day free trial, no credit card; no free plan on the page
    Native mobile app
    Not stated on the pricing page

    Source:bettermode.comread on 2 November 2026.

  7. 7. Kajabi

    Best for: Established creators who sell courses and coaching first and want a community beside them

    Kajabi lists communities alongside courses, coaching, a website, funnels, unlimited marketing emails and a contact CRM on every plan, with no revenue share.

    Basic and Growth include 1 community and Pro ($499) 3, so the community supports a course business rather than standing alone. Basic is limited to 2,500 contacts.

    Price
    $179 a month (Basic); $143 on annual billing
    Fee
    No platform fee; Kajabi Payments 2.9% + $0.30, or 2% with a third-party processor on Basic
    Free plan or trial
    Free trial, length not stated; 30-day money-back guarantee
    Native mobile app
    Yes: the pricing page lists the Kajabi Customer App; your own app in the App Store on Pro

    Source:kajabi.comread on 21 October 2026.Kajabi Alternatives

  8. 8. Podia

    Best for: Creators who sell downloads, courses and coaching and want a community in the same store

    Podia’s page describes its community as “Topic-based spaces, group chats, DMs, free or paid tiers”, with live workshops, webinars and in-person meetups as events, alongside courses, a website and Podia Email.

    Mover allows 25 community spaces and 100 email subscribers and takes 5% of sales; Shaker ($99) raises that to 100 spaces with no fee.

    Price
    $49 a month (Mover); $42 on annual billing
    Fee
    5% on Mover; no Podia fees on Shaker and Earthquaker
    Free plan or trial
    14-day free trial, no card; no free plan
    Native mobile app
    Not stated on the pricing page

    Source:podia.comread on 21 October 2026.Podia Alternatives

  9. 9. Thinkific

    Best for: Course businesses that want a community attached to their courses

    Thinkific lists communities as standalone products for member discussions, events and spaces, with one community and 10 spaces on Start, 3 communities on Grow and 10 on Expand, beside unlimited courses.

    Grow is $219 a month and Expand $499, and the branded app is extra. The community is one part of a course platform rather than the centre of it.

    Price
    $109 a month (Start); $82 on annual billing
    Fee
    Not stated on Thinkific’s pricing page
    Free plan or trial
    30-day free trial; no free plan
    Native mobile app
    Branded iOS and Android app as a $199 a month add-on

    Source:thinkific.comread on 21 October 2026.Thinkific Alternatives

  10. 10. Discord

    Best for: Free, chat-first communities that meet in real-time text and voice channels

    Discord is free to run, with voice, video and text channels and screen streaming on every major device. Servers that meet Discord’s minimum requirements can sell Server Subscriptions priced from $2.99 to $199.99.

    The community lives on Discord under its terms, and members need a Discord account. Courses, a sales page on your own domain and email to members are not part of it.

    Price
    Free: Discord won’t charge a fee for the basic functionality; Nitro is an optional paid membership
    Fee
    Server Subscriptions: owners keep 90% after applicable deductions
    Free plan or trial
    Free to use
    Native mobile app
    Yes: Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS, Android and consoles

    Source:discord.comread on 2 November 2026.Discord Alternatives

  11. 11. Facebook Groups

    Best for: Free groups that grow from people who are already on Facebook

    Anyone with a Facebook account can start a group, make it public or private, and require admin approval for new members and for posts.

    Members need a Facebook account and the group sits inside Facebook’s feed and ads. Facebook’s group help pages describe no way to charge for access, and courses and a sales page are not part of it.

    Price
    Free: “We do not charge you to use Facebook”
    Fee
    None stated; Facebook earns from advertisers
    Free plan or trial
    Free to use
    Native mobile app
    Yes: Facebook’s iPhone, iPad and Android apps

    Source:facebook.comread on 2 November 2026.Facebook Groups Alternatives

What to look for in online community software

Community platforms are built for different jobs. First decide which of three you are doing: a brand or customer community for an established business, a paid community for a coach, creator or mastermind leader, or a free group for friends and fans. Then check these.

Posts members want to make
Discussion posts, polls, questions and comments that are quick to create. A community lives on what its members write, so try the composer on a phone before you choose.
Spaces or subgroups
Separate areas for separate jobs, such as announcements, a course group and an events group, with private or paid spaces when not every member should see everything.
Ways to earn, and what they cost
Paid memberships, subscriptions, one-time payments, paid spaces, courses and events. Add the platform’s transaction fee to the card processor’s fee: a low monthly price with a high fee costs more once you sell.
Courses and live sessions
If you teach, the platform should host recorded lessons and run live calls or streams inside the community, not only link out to them.
Profiles, chat and analytics
Member profiles and a directory, direct messages, and numbers on who joins, who stays active and who pays.
Phone access
A native app can send push notifications; a browser-based community works on any phone without an install. Check which one the platform offers and whether a branded app costs extra.
Ownership and room to grow
Your own domain and brand, a way to bring members in and take them with you, and limits on members, spaces and communities that you will not outgrow in a year.

How we chose

  • Circle, Mighty Networks, Kajabi, Podia and Thinkific were read on 2026-10-21; Skool, Heartbeat, Bettermode, Discord and Facebook on 2026-11-02. Every page is saved as plain text so each figure can be checked; nothing comes from review sites, listicles or memory.
  • The mobile app column says only what each vendor’s own page or app-store listing states. "Not stated" means the page did not mention an app, not that the platform has none.
  • Discord and Facebook Groups are included because many communities start there for free, although they are social platforms rather than community software you brand and sell.
  • Vonza is the publisher and appears first with its live price; its row is written from its own product pages, and no competitor is scored or ranked.

Questions

Answered from the pages we read, with the date we read them.

The one that fits what the community is for. Circle (from $89 a month on annual billing) and Mighty Networks (from $79 a month) suit a dedicated creator community with iOS and Android apps; Skool starts at $9 a month with a 10% fee on Hobby; Heartbeat starts at $49 a month for up to 350 members; Bettermode starts at $149 a month for company communities. Kajabi, Podia and Thinkific add a community to a course business, and Discord and Facebook Groups are free. Vonza suits creators who want the community, courses, events, live streams and email in one plan.

Software that gives a group with a shared interest its own home online: a feed for posts, spaces for topics, member profiles, chat and events, and for a business a way to charge for access. Free social tools such as Discord and Facebook Groups host the group on their own platform; community software such as Circle, Mighty Networks, Skool, Heartbeat, Bettermode and Vonza lets you brand the community and sell it.

Discord and Facebook Groups cost nothing to use: Discord says it won’t charge a fee for basic functionality, and Facebook says it does not charge you to use Facebook. The community software in this guide offers trials rather than a free plan: 14 days at Circle, Mighty Networks, Skool, Heartbeat, Bettermode and Podia, 30 days at Thinkific, and a trial of unstated length at Kajabi. Vonza offers a 14-day free trial on every plan.

Circle lists an iOS and Android app on every plan; Mighty Networks says it is “Available on iOS, Android & the Web”; Skool’s official app is on the App Store and Google Play with push notifications; Heartbeat lists an iOS and Android app; Kajabi lists the Kajabi Customer App; Discord and Facebook have apps. Thinkific sells a branded iOS and Android app for $199 a month, and Podia and Bettermode do not mention an app on their pricing pages. Vonza has no native app: members use the community in any phone or desktop browser, with email and in-app notifications.

Kajabi charges no platform fee with Kajabi Payments (2.9% + $0.30 processing). Mighty Networks takes 2% on Launch down to 0.5% on Growth, Circle 2% on Professional down to 0.5% on Circle Plus, and Heartbeat 5% on Build down to 1.25% on Scale, on top of Stripe’s fee. Skool takes 10% + 30¢ a transaction on Hobby and 2.9% + 30¢ on Pro, Podia 5% on Mover and none above it, and Discord server owners keep 90% of subscription money after applicable deductions. Thinkific and Bettermode state no fee on their pricing pages. Vonza’s platform fee is the one stated on its pricing page.

Yes. Heartbeat lists member data migration on its Build plan, Circle offers a free payment migration service, Mighty Networks lists migration services on its Growth plan and Podia gives migration help on every plan. Vonza’s team migrates your courses, community, email lists and scheduling calendar at no extra cost when you sign up for an annual plan.

Only if you teach. Circle, Mighty Networks, Skool, Heartbeat, Kajabi, Podia and Thinkific list courses beside the community; Bettermode, Discord and Facebook Groups do not. Vonza links courses, products and bundles to the whole community or to one space, and members find them in a classroom inside the community.

This Is Where Your Business Finally Comes Together

One login. One system. One clear path to building digital income — without the overwhelm.

Vonza dashboard overview

Related pages