# The Best Learning Management Systems in 2026, From Small Schools to Enterprise By [Uyi Abraham](https://vonza.net/blog/author/uyi-abraham), Founder and CEO, Vonza. Last reviewed 2026-10-28. Vendor pages read on 2026-10-21 and 2026-10-28. > The best learning management system depends on who is learning and how you pay. TalentLMS suits a team training up to a few hundred people, and iSpring Learn suits companies that would rather pay per active learner from 100 users. LearnDash fits schools that already run WordPress, MoodleCloud hosts Moodle without servers, and Docebo or Absorb serve enterprise programs through a sales conversation. Thinkific and Teachable fit a creator-style course business. Vonza fits a school or institute that wants an LMS that also sells and runs the courses, with degrees, transcripts and a student portal on your own domain. A learning management system (LMS) delivers courses to a defined group of learners, tracks their progress and reports on it. Corporate LMSs price by user or active learner and are bought through a sales team; course platforms price by plan and are bought with a card. This guide covers both, because schools, training businesses and creators often need one tool for both jobs. Every price and limit comes from the vendor’s own pricing page, read on the date shown beside the table and saved so it can be checked. Where a vendor publishes no price, the row says so rather than guessing. ## At a glance | Platform | Best for | Lowest price (read 2026-10-21 / 2026-10-28) | Fee | Free plan or trial | | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | | Vonza | Schools, training institutes and creators who want an LMS that also sells and markets the courses | $99/mo on the lowest plan, live from the pricing page | In addition to Stripe's standard 2.9% + $0.30 payment processing fee, Vonza charges an additional platform fee per transaction — 20% during your free trial, 1% on any paid plan. | 14-day free trial on every plan | | TalentLMS | Employee and customer training for small and mid-size teams | $119 a month billed yearly (Core, $1,428 a year) for 1 to 40 users; Grow $229 and Pro $449 a month billed yearly | No transaction fee stated; priced by unique monthly users, with Pro adding $6 per additional user | Free plan, no credit card needed | | LearnDash | Schools and trainers who already run WordPress and want to own their stack | $350 for one site, $599 for 10 sites, up to $999 for 100 sites; the billing term is not stated on the page | No transaction fee stated | Live demo; no free plan or trial stated | | iSpring Learn | Corporate training billed per active learner | $6.91 per active user a month at 100 users ($8,286 a year); $4.46 at 300 users; $3.97 at 500 users | No transaction fee stated; you pay only for active users | Free trial, length not stated; no free plan | | Docebo | Enterprise learning programs with AI agents and Microsoft Teams in the workflow | Not published; “Contact sales” | Not stated; priced on active learner usage | Not stated | | Absorb LMS | Mid-size and enterprise training teams that expect a quote | Not published; the pricing page is a “Get Pricing” form | Not stated | Not stated | | MoodleCloud | Educators and small organisations who want Moodle without hosting it | Plan prices are shown in Australian dollars inside the MoodleCloud portal; the pages we could read stated none | No transaction fee stated | Free trial of the Starter plan | | Thinkific | A creator-style course business that needs unlimited courses, communities and B2B invoicing | $109 a month (Start); $82 on annual billing | Not stated on Thinkific’s pricing page | 30-day free trial; no free plan | | Teachable | A low entry price for a first course or coaching program | $39 a month (Starter); $29 on annual billing | 7.5% transaction fee on Starter; 0% on Builder ($89) and above | 7-day free trial; 30-day guarantee | Vonza publishes this guide and sells one of the platforms in it. Every competitor figure is quoted from that vendor’s own page, read on the date shown and saved so it can be checked, and Vonza’s own price is its live price from the pricing page. There are no affiliate links. ## The nine systems, one by one ### 1. Vonza **Best for**: Schools, training institutes and creators who want an LMS that also sells and markets the courses Vonza’s School plan adds degrees, admissions, a gradebook and transcripts to the courses module, so a college or training institute runs programs with grades A to F, a GPA weighted by credit hours and a transcript PDF. Courses carry quizzes and assignments with pass marks and must-pass gating, certificates issue automatically, and students learn in a portal on your own domain with billing and instalments built in. Vonza is the publisher of this guide. It is built for selling and running courses rather than for compliance training in a large enterprise: there is no SCORM import and no per-seat corporate licensing. Course limits follow the plan: Starter includes 10 courses, Growth 20 and Business unlimited. - Price: $99/mo on the lowest plan, live from the pricing page - Fee: In addition to Stripe's standard 2.9% + $0.30 payment processing fee, Vonza charges an additional platform fee per transaction — 20% during your free trial, 1% on any paid plan. - Trial: 14-day free trial on every plan - Source: [vonza.com/pricing](https://vonza.net/pricing) ### 2. TalentLMS **Best for**: Employee and customer training for small and mid-size teams TalentLMS prices by the number of unique users who log in each month, lists unlimited courses on every plan, learning paths, custom reports, automation of course assignment and AI content creation with monthly AI credits, and its prices are in US dollars with “no hidden costs”. The displayed prices are billed yearly: Core is $1,428 a year for up to 40 users and Pro $5,388 a year for up to 100, plus $6 per additional user. Selling courses to the public, certificates and community are not described on the pricing page. - Price: $119 a month billed yearly (Core, $1,428 a year) for 1 to 40 users; Grow $229 and Pro $449 a month billed yearly - Fee: No transaction fee stated; priced by unique monthly users, with Pro adding $6 per additional user - Trial: Free plan, no credit card needed - Source: [talentlms.com](https://www.talentlms.com/prices), read on 2026-10-28 ### 3. LearnDash **Best for**: Schools and trainers who already run WordPress and want to own their stack LearnDash is a WordPress plugin, so your LMS lives on your own hosting with the full package of Give, The Events Calendar, LearnDash and Kadence included. Its page lists quiz score breakdowns, completion analytics, learner reviews, and monthly or yearly subscriptions and bundles. You bring and maintain the WordPress site, hosting, theme and payments yourself, and the page does not state whether the price is annual. There is no student portal across sites, no community and no email marketing in the box. - Price: $350 for one site, $599 for 10 sites, up to $999 for 100 sites; the billing term is not stated on the page - Fee: No transaction fee stated - Trial: Live demo; no free plan or trial stated - Source: [learndash.com](https://www.learndash.com/pricing/), read on 2026-10-28 ### 4. iSpring Learn **Best for**: Corporate training billed per active learner iSpring Learn charges for active users only, so a large roster with few learners each month costs less, and the price per user falls as the team grows. The entry point is 100 users at $8,286 a year, and smaller teams are told to contact sales. Course selling, community and marketing are not described on the pricing page. - Price: $6.91 per active user a month at 100 users ($8,286 a year); $4.46 at 300 users; $3.97 at 500 users - Fee: No transaction fee stated; you pay only for active users - Trial: Free trial, length not stated; no free plan - Source: [ispringsolutions.com](https://www.ispringsolutions.com/ispring-learn/pricing), read on 2026-10-28 ### 5. Docebo **Best for**: Enterprise learning programs with AI agents and Microsoft Teams in the workflow Docebo’s page describes pricing based on active learner usage rather than accounts, AI agents powered by shared AI credits, training inside Microsoft Teams and mobile learning, and says it is trusted by Fortune 500 companies and 30M+ learners. There is no price on the page and no self-serve plan; every deal goes through an account team and can grow with modules and services later. - Price: Not published; “Contact sales” - Fee: Not stated; priced on active learner usage - Trial: Not stated - Source: [docebo.com](https://www.docebo.com/pricing/), read on 2026-10-28 ### 6. Absorb LMS **Best for**: Mid-size and enterprise training teams that expect a quote Absorb LMS sells to training teams through a pricing request, which usually means a tailored package rather than a plan table. The page states no plans, prices, limits or trial, so there is nothing to compare until you have spoken to its team. - Price: Not published; the pricing page is a “Get Pricing” form - Fee: Not stated - Trial: Not stated - Source: [absorblms.com](https://www.absorblms.com/pricing), read on 2026-10-28 ### 7. MoodleCloud **Best for**: Educators and small organisations who want Moodle without hosting it MoodleCloud is Moodle hosted by Moodle, described for individuals who sell courses and small organisations with basic training needs, with integrated video conferencing for up to 100 users and a custom domain on Medium and Standard plans. Plugins cannot be installed on MoodleCloud plans, a custom domain is an added $160 AUD a year on Medium plans, and the plan prices were not on the pages we read, so budget from the portal itself. - Price: Plan prices are shown in Australian dollars inside the MoodleCloud portal; the pages we could read stated none - Fee: No transaction fee stated - Trial: Free trial of the Starter plan - Source: [moodle.com](https://moodle.com/solutions/moodlecloud/), read on 2026-10-28 ### 8. Thinkific **Best for**: A creator-style course business that needs unlimited courses, communities and B2B invoicing Thinkific lists unlimited courses, communities, memberships, bookable calendars, bulk email to students and B2B sales and invoicing from Grow, with phone support from Grow and a branded mobile app add-on. It is a course platform rather than a corporate LMS: no per-seat pricing, and SCORM and compliance reporting are not on the pricing page. Grow is $219 and Expand $499 a month. - Price: $109 a month (Start); $82 on annual billing - Fee: Not stated on Thinkific’s pricing page - Trial: 30-day free trial; no free plan - Source: [thinkific.com](https://www.thinkific.com/pricing/), read on 2026-10-21 - [Thinkific Alternatives](https://vonza.net/compare/thinkific-alternatives) ### 9. Teachable **Best for**: A low entry price for a first course or coaching program Teachable lists courses, coaching, digital downloads, memberships, built-in email marketing and an affiliate program with unlimited students on every plan. Starter allows 5 products and 1 admin and takes 7.5% of each sale. As an LMS it has no per-seat model, no SCORM on the page and migration assistance only on the Custom plan. - Price: $39 a month (Starter); $29 on annual billing - Fee: 7.5% transaction fee on Starter; 0% on Builder ($89) and above - Trial: 7-day free trial; 30-day guarantee - Source: [teachable.com](https://www.teachable.com/pricing), read on 2026-10-21 - [Teachable Alternatives](https://vonza.net/compare/teachable-alternatives) ## How we chose - TalentLMS, LearnDash, iSpring Learn, Docebo, Absorb LMS and MoodleCloud were read on 2026-10-28; Thinkific and Teachable on 2026-10-21. Every page is saved as plain text so each figure can be checked. - Pages that publish no price are included and say so, because a buyer comparing an LMS should know which vendors require a sales call before any number appears. - Prices rendered only by JavaScript (TalentLMS) were read with a headless browser; MoodleCloud’s plan prices live in its portal and could not be read, so none are printed. - Vonza is the publisher and appears first with its live price; its row is written from its own product pages, and no vendor is scored or ranked. ## Questions ### What is the best learning management system? For a team training its own staff, TalentLMS is the quickest to start, with a free plan and Core at $119 a month billed yearly for up to 40 users; iSpring Learn suits 100 or more learners at $6.91 per active user a month. For an enterprise program, Docebo and Absorb LMS sell through a quote. A school that already runs WordPress can own its LMS with LearnDash from $350 for one site, and MoodleCloud hosts Moodle for you. A school or institute that also sells its courses is better served by a platform that combines the two, which is what Vonza’s School plan does. ### What is the difference between an LMS and an online course platform? An LMS delivers courses to a known group, such as employees or enrolled students, and reports on completion; a course platform sells courses to the public and includes the sales page, checkout and marketing. Corporate LMSs such as TalentLMS, iSpring Learn and Docebo price per user or active learner; course platforms such as Thinkific and Teachable price per plan. Vonza covers both jobs: courses with quizzes, assignments, certificates and transcripts, sold through its own sales pages and checkout. ### Is there a free LMS? TalentLMS has a free plan with no credit card, and MoodleCloud offers a free trial of its Starter plan; Moodle itself is open source if you host it. LearnDash and iSpring Learn list no free plan; Docebo and Absorb publish no plans at all. Vonza offers a 14-day free trial on every plan. ### Should I pay per user or a flat price? Per-user or per-active-user pricing (iSpring Learn, TalentLMS by unique monthly users, Docebo) fits a company that trains a known headcount, because cost tracks usage. A flat plan (LearnDash per site, Thinkific, Teachable, Vonza by plan) fits a school or creator whose learner count grows with sales, because the price does not rise with every new student. ### Which LMS includes quizzes, certificates and transcripts? LearnDash lists quiz score breakdowns on its page; TalentLMS lists learning paths and custom reports; the corporate vendors describe reporting rather than certificates on their pricing pages. Vonza includes quizzes with four question types and pass marks, assignments with a grading inbox, a drag-and-drop certificate designer that issues automatically, and on the School plan degrees with a GPA and a transcript PDF. ### Can students use the LMS on their own devices? Docebo lists training on learners’ preferred devices and inside Microsoft Teams, Thinkific sells a branded mobile app add-on, and web-based systems such as TalentLMS, LearnDash and MoodleCloud work in a browser. Vonza’s student portal runs in the browser on any device, lets students hand in assignments from a phone camera, and sits on your own domain. ## Related pages - [Best Online Course Platforms](https://vonza.net/best/online-course-platforms): Twelve course platforms compared from their own pricing pages. - [Vonza School](https://vonza.net/school): Degrees, admissions, transcripts and a gradebook for colleges and training institutes. - [Online Courses](https://vonza.net/free-online-courses-platform): What the courses module does: AI creation, templates, certificates, quizzes, pricing and the student portal. - [Compare Vonza](https://vonza.net/compare): Vonza beside 19 platforms, each priced from the vendor’s own page. - [Pricing](https://vonza.net/pricing): Starter, Growth, Business and School plans, with the live prices.